breast cancer, family, kids, life, Uncategorized

Unacceptable

IMG_8157

Back in November, I posted on Facebook, and took it down because people’s feelings were hurt, that if you voted for Trump and Co, you were voting against my life. After today, I am done being nice to people who voted for this disaster of a president and Congress. You voted against my life. You, family member, who told me you thought a businessman would be a better president than any politician because government is just like business. You, family member, who told me that the GOP would never really try to repeal the ACA without a replacement that protected pre-existing conditions from predatory insurance practices. You, friend, who told me that the ACA is the worst thing ever and haven’t I noticed who people from other countries come to the US for medical care because they cannot get medical care in their “socialized medicine countries” (which is, for the most part, not true). You, friend, who told me not to worry because “you don’t use that Obamacare…you get insurance through your job,” yet failed to understand the protections baked into the ACA are the sole reason my insurance CANNOT DROP ME.

So. Congratulations. If this passes (https://www.vox.com/2017/4/25/15429982/gop-exemption-ahca-amendment), you have given my insurance company and the State of Texas permission to charge me more because I developed cancer, which, according to the American Cancer Society, 1 in 2, 50% of people, will develop in his or her lifetime. In case you cannot comprehend what that means, you chose to play and hope you do not win the cancer lottery. I don’t gamble, a holdover from my Southern Baptist upbringing, but even I know those are pretty craptastic odds.

If this passes, if and when my cancer comes back, you have given my insurance permission to drop me or charge me so much I can no longer afford it. That seems like compassionate conservatism.

Didn’t Plato say “the measure of a man is what he does with power?” Republican are pro life, until birth. After that, forget it. Republican lawmakers have gone on record THIS WEEK saying people should just get better jobs if they want health insurance and health care is not a human right. We are the ONLY industrialized country without a national health plan because “free market.” Healthcare should not be for-profit. Healthcare should not be a bargaining chip. Healthcare should not be up for discussion. Healthcare should be a right of every American, and do not let Paul Ryan fool you with the BS about giving people access by providing choice. I have access to a Tesla every time I go to NorthPark Mall. I do not have a Tesla because I have access. I can look at it. I can sit in the driver’s seat. I cannot buy it. I can’t afford it. Access to a doctor, to a hospital, to a clinic, to a nurse, to anything medical means NOTHING if you cannot pay for it in a for profit healthcare scheme.

Republicans like to use Christianity as a hammer. They claim to be the party of Jesus. They use the Bible as a sword, yet, they seem to forget Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount -“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Luke 6:31. Or, they forget, in Matthew, Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me” Matthew 25:40. Or, they just do not care. Whatever gets them the vote they want, right?

I may have a complicated relationship with my religion and the church, but I do remember, with clarity, the teachings regarding selflessness, service, compassion, caring. Where is your outrage about this? Or, is this how you show your true colors?

Do you smugly sit there and think, “Well, I’m not sick.” SO. DID. I. “Or I’m in good health?” SO. WAS. I. “My family has no history of breast cancer.” NEITHER. DOES. MINE. “I’m too young.” ME. TOO.

Here is the bottom line: I will likely die from breast cancer. As people enjoy pointing out to me, I eat badly, I drink soda, and I don’t exercise, so if I’m not willing to help myself, when my cancer comes back, it’ll be my fault. If and when it does come back, the GOP who gleefully make it increasingly more difficult for cancer patients to receive the care needed to survive will not care. I am expendable. I am just one in millions with pre-existing conditions, with a life threatening illness, with cancer.

If and when my cancer returns and if it is HER2 again, my best shot to survive is a drug combination that costs nearly $100k. I don’t have that kind of money, and while A would get three jobs and borrow money to help pay for it, I will NOT allow cancer to take away S and AJ’s home, their security, and I will not allow it, to allow me, to ruin A’s financial future. I’ll make the choice. I will refuse treatment. I will not allow my family to endure bankruptcy due to medical debt. MY medical debt. And, ultimately, if my cancer returns, when my cancer returns, I’ll succumb to it. Therefore, what’s the point of putting A, S, and AJ’s financial futures at stake?

Here’s my request, those family members, those friends who see no problem with this happening, who gripe about the protests, who refuse to call their representatives and senators and tell them bills like this are wrong, who believe the protesters are paid protester: If and when my cancer comes back, when I die from it because the GOP is determined to strip away the healthcare protections baked into the ACA which keep me alive because the insurance companies cannot drop me, cannot charge me more, and are required to cover any treatments or surgeries I need -enjoy explaining why you voted for these people to S and to AJ. Enjoy their questions. I don’t. Just this weekend, AJ asked me what would happen to me if the cancer comes back, and when I tried to tell him not to worry about that, S got mad and told me to stop not answering the question and to answer them. So, I told them. AJ cuddled close and said, “I don’t want that to happen, Mommy.” Me neither, baby. S asked me if she could get breast cancer. I told her anyone, man or woman, can develop any cancer. She cried and said, “I hate cancer, and I hate you have cancer.” Me too, baby.

Those are the questions, the conversations. You, family member, you friend, you will face S and AJ. You will face A.

 

1 thought on “Unacceptable”

Leave a Reply

