breast cancer, life, teaching, Uncategorized

Back to Reality

I went back to work today. I loved the return of some normalcy. I loved being back with my coworkers and my students. I loved the discussions we had about the argument essay of the AP exam. It was a good day.

Now, here’s what I learned returning to work post-surgery:

  1. My left arm is NOT accustomed to doing everything I needed it to do today. When I got to radiation this afternoon and had to put my left arm out and bent at an angle, it hurt. It felt like stretching a muscle just to the point of painful. It ached the entire time I was at radiation.
  2. Sleeping well is a must because post-surgery fatigue isn’t gone. Lucky, our new kitten, slept with us last night and woke me up at 4:30 am. I didn’t fall asleep until after midnight. I tossed and turned until 1:30. So, I slept about three hours. I made it through the day pretty well, but right now, I’m exhausted. I’m pretty sure I could go to sleep right now and sleep until 5:30 tomorrow morning with no problem.
  3. I work at an awesome place. From the students who were genuinely glad to see me, the coworkers who came to see me and to welcome me back, the administrators who asked me to tell them if I needed anything other than for someone to watch out and make sure I didn’t overdo, being back today reminded me how lucky I am to work where I work. Their support has meant so much to me throughout this crazy roller coaster.

I did something for me this morning. I hauled my lazy tail out of bed at 5:30 and walked. It was a beautiful morning…just a little bite to the air. As much as I would have liked another 30 minutes to sleep, I know today went easier because I went to work relaxed. I don’t know if I can do this every morning, but I’m going to try.

It made returning to reality easier.

Leave a Reply

